“First draft finished!”: Schmuck bait for authors

Some humans would do anything to see if it was possible to do it. If you put a large switch in some cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying “End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH”, the paint wouldn’t even have time to dry. – Terry Pratchett, Thief of Time

 

Remember how I mentioned I had one small alteration to make earlier in the novel AFTER I’ve finished my first draft? 

I basically thought it would be transposing two scenes and making minor text alterations. However, I forgot that causality and what-characters-know-but-shouldn’t-tell-the-reader need to be maintained. This means some serious rejigging in the first quarter of the book. I don’t need to write a huge number of new sections, but need to alter several. 

It’s highly annoying, especially as the payoff for this “small alteration” really only comes in the last sentence of the novel. I like the payoff, however, and it will hopefully give the reader the appropriate jolt. 

It doesn’t feel like a second draft, though. I’m making the story WORK for the first draft, even though I’ve finished the story itself. A couple more days (probably) until I can get the first draft out to my readers

Apologies, all. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “First draft finished!”: Schmuck bait for authors

  1. John Harper says:

    I feel your pain, Ben, When you get that over that big mental hill you just want it gone. to have to tramp back up that hill can be pretty demoraleisng.

    Chin up, you’ll get there 🙂

    • redravens says:

      Yeah… it only took a day or so’s writing time, but there were all sorts of perspective changes and shifting sections hither and yon. As I said elsewhere, I’ve probably stuffed up some of the pacing and the distribution of my “breather” sections, but I still THINK the change is for the better. Have to wait until you get to that last paragraph (no peeking!) before I can confirm that.

Leave a Reply

